Martial Advantages of the Internal

Jade Dragon Alaska

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been training formally since 1972, in external, internal, hard and soft martial arts; Korean, Japanese, and Chinese.

I do not necessarily ascribe to the idea that hard is always external, nor soft always internal.

As Bob Dylan put it,
"It is the masters that make the rules,
for the wise me and the fools."

I prefer to rely on the weight of an argument, rather than just who said it.

I would rather know how to think independantly, than
parrot memorize what to think.

Mt site is: http://www.jadedragonalaska.com/

I have a new book out that emphasizes how to feel Qi for yourself, with workouts for Martial Qigong at the site. More information available on request.

For the topic at hand ...

Martial Advantages of the Internal

Punch led kicks, that carry through to punch combos; will keep energy more flowing and continuous. Seasoned Goju fighters will do this with a front punch, followed by a back leg front kick, carrying the reverse punch.

The hand-elbow-shoulder combinations are balanced by foot-knee-hip movements and spins so areas traveled can be coordinated to the swing of the velocity changes of the inertia and potential energy generated. Tiger Tae Kwon Do hand combinations are synchronized well with spin and turn-back side thrust kicks.

An externally hard; hand-elbow-shoulder combination is a skeleton based, erector set that's primary force is lever and axis/joint leveraged. In mathematics this concept is rudimentarily measure by how many triangle-rectangles in 'step-theory'. The more accurate mathematically theory of differential/integral calculus; requires an understanding of the flowing concepts of wave theory. An internal blow flows like water, with the force more efficiently delivered like a whip. Once applied, the internal conforms to the target better.