Looking for Kung Fu School around Orange County

KungLE

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm currently a student attending UCI, and have been looking for a place to train since my sensei moved away. I decided to look for a traditional Chinese school because I see a lot more of an emphasis on the integration of both hard and soft techniques. I do not know very much about Chinese Martial Arts, I'm looking for a school that is practical but emphasizes theory and history as much as application. Any advice that anyone could give me would be great. Some arts that I've found very interesting are Qinna and Shuai Jiao.

Thanks

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
From a CMA POV this is a pretty general question.

All TCMA has a mixture of Hard and soft to varying degrees depending on style

All CMA has some aspect of Qinna to varying degrees depending on style and/or lineage

Most CMA has Shuaijiao to varying degrees depending on style and/or lineage.

All CMA styles have a history but that is generally a combination of myth and fact and you need to really look into it to figure out fact from myth sometimes.

As to practical application any Traditional CMA school will get into that but maybe not right away you will likely need to learn forms first.

Unless you go Sanda/Sanshou they will get into it quicker but it is not technically traditional and likely most Sanshou schools you will find will be sports sanshou (what Cung Le did before MMA). There is a Police/Military version but it is rare to find a real teacher of it.

However there are also some Contemporary Wushu schools and they are much more into form than application.

What are the schools in your area? That would make it easier to answer your questions.

OP
K

KungLE

White Belt
Reaction score
From a CMA POV this is a pretty general question.

All TCMA has a mixture of Hard and soft to varying degrees depending on style