Kosho Ryu?

LegLockGuy

Green Belt
Reaction score
I was wondering a couple things about Kosho Shorei Ryu Kempo. I heard there aren't any techniques. What does that mean? Does it cover all the ranges? (striking, grappling, clinching) What's the striking like? And how does sparring go in a Kosho Ryu school? (I know it depends, but usually whats the standard)

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
Kosho Ryu as I am studying it is a branch of Kenpo that split off before the techniques as we know them were invented and systematized.

It covers all ranges, and has (in my opinion) better weapons training that Tracy or Parker. Suffers from the same 'ground blindness' as the rest of Kenpo.

I've never actually seen sparring in the KR school I visit, though my teacher spars quite well with me one on one.

Not a bad system. Not bad at all. If you can imagine Kenpo and Aikido hooking up in a bar after a concert...the illegitimate love child would be Kosho.

kosho

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Here is some info: maybe you have seen this or what not. But to truly see kosho you need to go to a seminar with Bruce Juchnik Hanshi, or Pat Kelly Sensei... or Larry Krastburger sensei ( spelling?)
There is ground work in Kosho Pat kelly Sensei showed some of this at a seminar he did at My Dojo a few months ago. hope this helped...
Kosho

kosho-mon.gif

The Sho Chiku Bai Mon (Pine, Bamboo, Plum Crest) is the basic foundation of study for all Kosho Ryu practitioners, and for that matter, all traditional martial artists. The study of the mon is known as Mon Gaku. The Sho Chiku Bai crest of Kosho Ryu has elements that are over 750 years old. Crests that are developed in modern times do not have the roots and historical significance represented in the Sho Chiku Bai.
There are three ways of looking at the crest and its meaning. Interpretation is taught in order of importance as follows.