Kick weakness

Vanice

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm not good at kicks. Some people thought that it's beacause of my weight. Especially at 45 kick which is needed for sparing. Can anyone help me?

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hi Vanice, welcome to MartialTalk.

I don't know, I guess the place to start is - what is your weight and how long have you been training?

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Good news, brother, we have numbers that explain. Two weeks.

It's going to take longer to learn kicking. No worries, just keep training and have fun.

Don Johnson

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Turn your supporting foot past your target, and lean away from the kicking leg a bit. That will allow your hip to rotate and achieve the 45. As you develop more flexibility, you won't need to do that, however, you will have more power for full contact kicks on the street. By the way, you may not want to use full contact in sparring unless you want a quick and painful reminder from a more experienced student of the power developed with more practice ;)

Practice slow, precise kicks while holding onto something for balance. Most never practice slow, and thus never develop the proper muscle memory of best technique. It is a great strength and flexibility builder too. Slow is smooth. Smooth is fast. Practice consistently, for the long term. Like Buka said, no worries, keep training and have fun!

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Ignore all this, "Go Slow", nonsense. The best way to add speed and power to a kick, is to act as if you are also kicking something with your knee on the way there. That first half of the motion is key. o_O

Don Johnson

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Ignore all this, "Go Slow", nonsense. The best way to add speed and power to a kick, is to act as if you are also kicking something with your knee on the way there. That first half of the motion is key. o_O