Kenpo Training

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
Looking for opinions/thoughts… (I know that can be dangerous J )

I will start out that this is for open training and self-defense, not specific curriculum material. (When I teach, I teach what is supposed to be taught.)

I have been training in the martial arts for 18+ years (mostly kenpo). I have gone to numerous seminars and have trained with some great martial artists. I have read all GM Parker’s, and in most cases numerous times. In my reading and discussions, I find many kenpo artists stating the same thing “ We are supposed to take what we learn and scientifically adapt it for ourselves and specific situations. For years I tried to go the “strict” EPAK route and found too many individuals stating I was executing a certain strike, block or technique in a different (and incorrect) manner than what was part of the EPAK curriculum. I have also trained in Tracy kenpo and have blended the two, dropped some things form one or the other. I founded great things in both. Yet, when I attend some seminars or read some posts, instructors and students seem to say “that is not the way GM Parker (or any other teacher) said it should be done”. Or “that will never work”.

At this stage in my training, I like to formulate my own ideas, thoughts and variations of techniques. Being 6’7” and 220 lbs (37” legs and monkey arms) has is advantages and disadvantages. I have made the necessary modifications to the techniques so that the material will work for me. I am always open to anyone’s critique of my performance as long as they back it with their reasons and have an open mind to why I may do what I do. I read and utilize each of your posts in my training. I enjoy hearing other martial artists opinions on why/how techniques may work or not work.