Karate VS. Tae Kwon Do

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you have done both Art and not the sport only why did you choose one over the other.

I did Okinawa Karate for years and then made the switch to Tae Kwon Do, the main reason is simple moved away from instructor I loved and at that time in my life I could not find a decent Karate Instructor so when I meet this little old Korean guy and he train everyone so hard it was a perfect match. So that is my story what is yours

Jai

Black Belt
Reaction score
I started in Karate and moved to TKD when Sensei's father passed away and he moved to be back with his family. I studied other arts while I was taking TKD until my injury last year. I moved back to Karate simply because it is not as harsh on my body, not as much jumping ect. It is also a lot cheeper to be perfectly honest. My son and I can both take Shotokan together for about 40 a month less then what TKD was running me alone per month.

OP
terryl965

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I started in Karate and moved to TKD when Sensei's father passed away and he moved to be back with his family. I studied other arts while I was taking TKD until my injury last year. I moved back to Karate simply because it is not as harsh on my body, not as much jumping ect. It is also a lot cheeper to be perfectly honest. My son and I can both take Shotokan together for about 40 a month less then what TKD was running me alone per month.

I can understand, well at least you are doing it together.

OnlyAnEgg

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I started with TKD. I found it to be a vigorous workout! Our instructor was also one to teach us a variety of self-defence techniques, as well. Not a lot of emphasis on competition.

My first karate instructor took a VERY relaxed attitude toward training. I was with him for a year or so.