Is "The Perfect Weapon" movie a good example of Kenpo?

J

Jdub1107

I'm new to martial arts and have decided to take Kenpo on. I live in around Pasadena, in Southern CA and active in my search for a good Kenpo Dojo.
I came across The Perfect Weapon being mentioned several times on the board. Anways, since I've never actually seen Kenpo performed (except during the couple times that I've visted a dojo), would this movie be a good example of what I can look forward to?

btw- Is there an option to delete a post? Thanks

dsp921

Green Belt
Reaction score
You should have no problem finding a good Kenpo studio in Pasadena, it's like the mother-land out there. Try Larry Tatum's school.
Jeff Speakman does Kenpo so that is what you will see in that movie. If you want to see what you will really be learning go to a school and watch a couple of classes.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
Well, the odds of you being taught by a pidgen-English speaking Asian are pretty low, and the likelyhood of you taking out a warehouse of gun-totting badasses armed with just two sticks and two knives is equally low, and I don't recommend walking into a TKD dojo and saying "I wonder if I could kick your ***." But besides that, yeah, its kenpo.

Living in Pasadena you will have a large selection of kenpo to choose from, good luck!

Lamont

OP
J

Jdub1107

One reason I haven't gone with Larry Tatum, is the cost. I went to Rick Jeffcoat's school on Thur and it is a place I would definitely go to. I'm just looking around and seeking others opinions on any other places that may be good. I don't want to just enroll at a place that'll give a false sense of security, I just want to be taught and be disciplined if necessary.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score