Status
Not open for further replies.

Darrencowan

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hi, I am a 4th degree black belt in Sanchin Ryu Karate. I am also a rock n roll journalist. I attend concerts, photograph the bands, write live reports and interview major artists. One thing that has bothered me throughout my career is the attitudes of many bouncers/security. I am there working just like them, in fact, I'm indirectly responsible for them making money, but they talk to me like I'm a nobody and try to intimidate me with their size. I feel this is a poor practice. I worked six months for a very credible firm in Austin, Texas. We didn't try to intimidate people. We first talked to them and told them what was the deal. We didn't give them this attitude of "because I said so, so shut up" that I often get from security.

I feel this is a misstep for clubs and band management. For one, I would rather have a smaller guy who knows how to handle himself, who can calmly and rationally speak to patron without intimidation then some meathead.

Two, these people aren't communicating who can do what. We get a pass that shows what we can and can't do, but when I get off the bus from interviewing a platinum-selling artist, I would like more respect. It's because of this, I had to end a business relationship with a club I was very fond of. Even when I approached the club owners, they still acted like I was all at fault. There was no responsibility for their missteps, what-so-ever. I feel the inability to owe up to your own mistakes is an endangered species in our society.

As far as grappling, hand-to-hand techniques goes, I have studied and am proficient. Sanchin Ryu is very big on trapping.
phil-anselmo-interview-MU.jpg

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I am confused. What is the issue exactly?

Kickboxer101

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Boo hoo are they not being very nice? That's life get on with it and also umm what does your grappling skills have to do with this?