I'm not a karateka, not a judoka, not a boxer. I'm a martial artist.

Ironbear24

Senior Master
Reaction score
Throughout my time spent here I have been around here and there, bouncing from place to place. Eventually I found a karate dojo (kenpo offshoot) that I really enjoy, here we are training both striking and grappling, joint locks and take downs ect.

I had a brief experience with boxing and honestly didn't like it, I felt it was limited but it sure was a damn good workout and overall good experience. It just wasn't what I was seeking in martial arts. Anyway, my point is what do you refer to yourself as when it comes to which marital arts you practice?

For example there is of course karateka which means practitioner of karate, and judoka and jiu jitsiero ( I butchered that.) Since I do more than one thing, I don't see anything fitting other than the term "martial artist."

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Throughout my time spent here I have been around here and there, bouncing from place to place. Eventually I found a karate dojo (kenpo offshoot) that I really enjoy, here we are training both striking and grappling, joint locks and take downs ect.

I had a brief experience with boxing and honestly didn't like it, I felt it was limited but it sure was a damn good workout and overall good experience. It just wasn't what I was seeking in martial arts. Anyway, my point is what do you refer to yourself as when it comes to which marital arts you practice?

For example there is of course karateka which means practitioner of karate, and judoka and jiu jitsiero ( I butchered that.) Since I do more than one thing, I don't see anything fitting other than the term "martial artist."