***im New! Help***

Ether23

White Belt
Reaction score
Well, im new to this, and I was thinking of maybe starting and learning some kind of martial arts.

Im 15, and im not sure which kind to study. I heard kenpo and wingchun is good. I wanna learn one that is like more striking, punching, kicking, good for self defense and street fights.

Also, would it be awkward for me to start at such a late age at 15? Thx.

tntma12

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hey there, first of all, I would like to welcome you to MT. Second, I would recomend checking out local schools in your area and see what interests you. There is no wrong art.

It is never too late to start training, and definately not at 15, you are still very young and have many good years of training ahead of you. Good luck!

TheOriginalName

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Again....welcome to the forum.

I think the most important thing about a style\school is the "vibe" you get from the instructors. Go along to a few schools, have a watch and a go (most offer a free first lesson) and get an ide of what they do and how they interact with the students.
I did this only a few months ago and i can tell you the difference between schools is noticable.
And make sure you tell them what you want to get out of it...it will help them to help you.

Also, since when is 15 ever considered old?? Come on, i'm 26 and consider myself still young....your making me feel old by talking like that!!

Anyway, best of luck with your search. Make sure you post here again when you have made a decision to let us all know what your doing.

And remember: The hardest step in the journey is the first.

Steel Tiger

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hi and welcome.

I started training when I was 17 but didn't get really serious until I was 20 so I don't think 15 is too old. In fact, from a long term perspective its probably just right.