How to Box with Wing Chun

KPM

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hey Guys! This is my first attempt at a youtube video.I’ve been thinking about his a lot lately and working on it, so I decided to commit it to video.Here is my first installment on the issue of making Wing Chun more “boxing-like.”I talk about the power-line, coupling the elbow and the hip, generating power with a “drop step”, and the differences between modern boxing and a “Wing Chun Boxing."

I think we are seeing a natural evolution of Wing Chun in modern times. If you browse through youtube you will find any number of vids showing people trying to spar with their Wing Chun skills. A lot of them don't look that great. I think this is because Wing Chun was not designed to be a "sparring" method. Or people will look like they are doing what is essentially modern boxing while using some Pak Sau's and Bong Sau's. I think that if you are going to combine Wing Chun with boxing, or use boxing as an inspiration to "expand" upon your Wing Chun, the "old school" boxing is a much better fit than "modern" boxing. The old school boxing had a structure and footwork that was already very similar to Wing Chun. But I don't see what I am doing as a combination of the two, but rather as an "inspired by" way of doing Wing Chun.

http://youtu.be/o4oyVEtljj4

Here is my second installment on “How to Box with Wing Chun.” This one deals with footwork.It really isn’t much different than standard Wing Chun footwork, just a little more “open.”

http://youtu.be/AjDYx4OEa9s

Argus

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Good stuff.

There's a lot of insight to be gleamed from old bareknuckle boxing, and I'd recommend anyone to read manuals of the time.

I feel that the most important aspect of applying Wing Chun, though, is not in technique, but in principle; loi lau, hoi sung - lat sau jik chung. With an emphasis on "lat sau jik chung" - always follow in, fill and chase the center.