Hi, from UK/London!/;-)

mruk4u

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm 'new' here having just joined, today.

I confess, I've always been a really big martial arts fan from ever since youngest childhood(age 5+). And, at age 43+ absolutely nothing's changed. I still love martial arts exactly just the same as when I was a mere kid - and, with the same amounts of tremendous enthusiasm, delight, wonder???

I study martial arts every now and then...different styles/different clubs/different instructors...but, never very seriously, I'm afraid...for example, at the most, for 2/3 months long I'd turn up regularly say once per week...; and, other weeks/months/years not!

In that sense I guess I'm truly a 'failed' martial artist...because, once you stop training then your body tends to revert back to being a complete beginner all over again. For example, I started studying martial arts through using books at around age 5...; and, started attending classes at around age 23(Aikido)...; and, now, I'm aged 43 years old...and, yet, I'm still a mere 'white belt' total beginner! Thus, none of my skills have ever managed to improve due to sheer lack of regular consistent practice.

-(I think, I have ADD-Attention Deficit Disorder. This makes it extremely difficult for me to be able to concentrate on sticking with learning any 'one' subject. Instead, my mind tends to wonder around all over the place...constantly, switching from one subject to the next...switching from say studying 'physical' martial arts...to studying something else entirely different, altogeather...such as remaining purely 'stationary' reading books. Currently, I'm not studying martial arts...; but, I am studying to speak both French/Japanese.)-