Hello, I’m new here

Michele123

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hello! I just joined this board. I studied Martial Arts back in the 1990’s until I left for college shortly after earning a Shodan in Shutokan. I moved away and was never able to find another school in my original style. I tried Tae Kwan Do on a couple different occasions but it never fit me. It seemed so much about show and so impractical with its emphasis on tournaments. (Shotokan was focused on self-defense and never did tournaments).

Fast-forward to this year and I really wanted my 5 1/2 year old daughter to start classes. She has trouble focusing and sitting still so I hope she can learn discipline from studying Martial Arts. I know it helped me a lot back in the day. The only thing around here are various Tae Kwan Do schools so after trying a couple we found one that seems really good. After just a few weeks I had to sign up too. It’s been great. The master is amazing.

Yet, I still struggle with the differences between my old style and this one. I’ve kept up practicing my old style off and on over the years and it seems so strange to suddenly do things differently. Has anyone else faced anything similar? I almost feel like I’m betraying my old style/school. On the other hand, this new school is great and I feel so amazing getting to study with others again.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome Michele. If you found a TKD dojang that you like, embrace it. That doesn't mean you are betraying Shotokan. You can still maintain your Shotokan skills and maybe even find a way to blend the two arts. My base art is Kung Fu San Soo for many years, but I have cross trained in a few other arts, and now have been training in Jeet Kune Do. I never felt I was betraying KFSS. I actually blend them together and make it work for me.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score