Heian Yondan opening moves; what do they mean?

I

ichinisan

Hi, I'm new to this forum. I am studying Shotokan.

Can any one help with this thing thats bothering me. At the start of the kata Heian (Pinan?) Yondan we carry out simultaneous open hand "blocks" to the side and above the head(ish). I have always been taught to decelerate these and increase the strength as they rise (or move out).

This suggests to me that i am supposed to be pushing against something, but its hard to figure out what. After the right side there is a step forward (left leg zenkutsu dachi) and low cross block. That I have been told is to block a kick. I would be quite reluctant to block a kcik this way, normally.

Any ideas please?

Thanks

oldnewbie

Purple Belt
Reaction score
ichinisan said:
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I am studying Shotokan.

Can any one help with this thing thats bothering me. At the start of the kata Heian (Pinan?) Yondan we carry out simultaneous open hand "blocks" to the side and above the head(ish). I have always been taught to decelerate these and increase the strength as they rise (or move out).

This suggests to me that i am supposed to be pushing against something, but its hard to figure out what. After the right side there is a step forward (left leg zenkutsu dachi) and low cross block. That I have been told is to block a kick. I would be quite reluctant to block a kcik this way, normally.

Any ideas please?

Thanks
I study Shotokan as well, but don't have any good answers to your question. I also was taught to make the moves slowly with great intensity.
I was taught the low cross was a defense to a snap kick, why wouldn;t you use this???

OP
I

ichinisan

I wouldn't use it because when I tried it with my Tae kwon doo friend his foot got much to close for comfort.