Greetings all

Drasken

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm a 26 year old man living in Texas, and have been obsessed with martial arts since I was very young. I started out learning combatives frm my father who was an Army Ranger. After a while I began researching every martial art that I could find info on. Eventually I was introduced to my father's friend, who happened to have spent some time in Israel. He began teaching me Krav Maga and I fell in love with the simplicity and effectiveness of the style. I trained in this style for several years, though I kept researching as I was beyond obsessed with learning as much as I could.
Eventually we moved and I found myself without a training partner. I decided to enroll at a local Aikido dojo and really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and gentleness of this style. While studying Aikido I also took classes in Kenjutsu, which I also enjoyed very much. I studied for a little over a year before having to move once again.
Since then I have picked up parts of several styles from people over the years. Recently I've picked up an interest in Bujinkan Budo Taijitsu and several forms of Kung Fu. A lot has happened in a short amount of time, and because of depression I have become very out of shape, but I'm working on getting back into martial arts and hopefully will be taking classes again soon. Not sure which style I want to learn but I am leaning heavily toward Krav Maga once again.

As a side note, all of my posting at the moment is done on my phone. I usually pay close attention to what I type, but ocassionally my phone will "auto correct" with random words that are completely different than what I entered and I miss the mistake. So if a word in my post makes no sense, I appologize in advance and will correct it when I notice the phone has made me look like a fool yet again.

Happy to be here, I've browsed some of the threads already and look forward to many discussions.

grumpywolfman

Black Belt
Reaction score