Getting spouses "into" Kenpo

K

kenpochip

Has anyone had any success getting a previously not-very-interested-in-kenpo spouse to become interested in it? Stories would be appreciated.

KenpoChip

OP
W

Wertle

I have no stories from experience, but some from observation. I've known two people in class who have tried their absolute hardest to get their families involved in Kempo, including forcing their children into coming, and trying everything they could, including "you can't do this unless you come to class this often". I'm not really sure how he got his wife to come, though I'm sure the methods weren't the same as with the children ^_^. Their heart was in the right place, but it was painfully obvious that the children just did not want to be there, and the spouse had a similar mindset, but participated well out of courtesy of not disrupting the class.

It was very funny, because the first person who did this is now moving up in the ranks of blackbelt, and is helping teach as a new student came and did the *exact* same thing. Through watching this new student, he began to realize what he had been doing to his own family all along! He even mentioned "I wasn't *that* bad was I?" As many of us grinned and nodded.

I guess this just means don't drag your spouse along against their will, because if they don't want to be there, they won't get much out of it. Maybe try a sneakier approach? Try and find a particular element in which they might be interested, something they weren't aware of before. What sort of things does the spouse-in-question enjoy? Interests?

OP
P

pineapple head

It took me a while to get my 7 year old son to come along to class , when he eventually did he liked it so much i now take 3 of his pals also.
As far as wife is concerned , NO WAY ....i enjoy my 2 hours break from her , dragging her along to class just does not interest me.
I think i speak for most married men!

OP
K

Kirk

Originally posted by jbkenpo

you don't