Forced Catheterization Used In DUI Case

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Problem is, they only check for alcohol.

The newspaper states that the driver was pulled over for "drunken driving", but my understanding is that the actual charge was "DUI", which as far as I know is not restricted to just alcohol.

A driver under the influence of street drugs, legally prescribed Rx drugs, or even OTC meds such as nyquil could possibly be just as dangerous as a driver with a BAC of .08 or above.

Well....yeah, of course they're only checking for alcohol. But, I see what you're saying. I could have nothing to drink, but be under the influence of any other drug, which will give the impression that I'm impared. One would hope that if the cop knows what he's doing, he'd realize the person wasn't fit to drive, and arrest him, if he had reason to believe there were drugs in the car or the person was under the influence of drugs.

I'm no doctor, but the tests are only going to show what they're told to show. In other words...I go to my doc for a physical. He sends me for blood work, instructing the people to test for my cholesterol and any other box he checks. The people at the lab are not going to test for the AIDS virus because they weren't told to.

I think, if I'm understanding the article correctly here, the issue is he was forced. AFAIK, if someone refuses to submit to a test, thats the end of it. Charges are based on the persons refusal.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
So a Breathalyzer and blood test confirm that the guy was below the limit. How would they have been able to prosecute him anyway. I was just in Indiana and they have warning signs up everywhere that speeding Max 1000.00 fine reckless driving up to 8 years in jail. I wonder what the fine and jail time would be for drunk driving? It would have to be massive for a judge to sign off on the search warrant!