Footwear for Swordsmanship

S

Shane Smith

In The Western European Martial Arts, we have found flat-soled shoes to be ideal for fencing as they allow proper balance and a good feel for the ground no matter whether we are on a wooden floor or outside on the lawn. Many of my fellow ARMA Scholars wear simple wrestling shoes. What are you guys wearing for your intense hilt-work and why?

Swordlady

Senior Master
Reaction score
Um...no footwear for me. Just bare feet. :) Then again, I'm studying a JSA.

OP
H

Hyaku

Well first of all I have to say that this relates to a lifestyle. We dont wear footwear indoors in Japanese homes. Even in offices its sandals. We wear shoes because its dirty outside. Not only that but we like to get our shoes off and sit on the floor, be at one with nature. In budo "stamp the floor, sweat and learn the way of the sword". Japans history and culture and religion has deep connections of being at one with the earth. Musashi's book of the elements describes the fundamentals in the earth book.

Footwork and the way the legs move in relationship to the body are an essential part of JSA. The feet moving with an almost floating like feeling. The use of the feet settling slightly before to make use of kahanshin (lower body hara and hip power). For me there are certain similarities with sumo and a clay floor. The Jigenryu takes off shoes and socks to practice on clay. Its just something you cant get wearing footwear.

In my case body weight is never placed over one leg. The legs operate as a unit to move the body that is extended with a weapon. The weapon is part of that body. More like a set a wheels than some clump, thudding action. We sometimes compare heavy plodding to an elephant but in actual fact its a very gracefull creature when you see it transport so much weight.