Flexibility issues

djones

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I have been doing Muay Thai now for about 3 months. I really like it but have found a massive limitation.... my flexibility!!!

I have never been flexible, since being a child (im now 26) I have not been able to touch my toes, indeed I'm about 7 inches off!!!

At Muay Thai we do quite a bit of stretching before the session and also as a cool down but it doesn't seem to be helping in terms of making my body (just legs really) more flexible.

Can anybody give me some idea about what I can do to try sort this out?

I have even considered going to something like Yoga or Pilates but I'm not sure if this would have the desired effect.

Any help is much appretiated!!!

Thanks in advance

CuongNhuka

Senior Master
Reaction score
First of all after about 3 months, don't expect much. All that'll really happen is you'll lose flexiblty less quickly (yes, you do lose flexibilty, even if you never had it). After a couple months, you'll begin to deadline. Not getting more or less flexible. You're probably just past this point. You're going to get more flexible in the next few months. By this time next year you should be just about to toe-touching. If you want any more help talk to your instructor.
If you really want some serious help, go ahead with yoga. It'll develop some serious flexibitly and some unique stength gains that you could use in Muay Thai matches, if thats what you're into. But if I were you, I would avoid pilates. It works, but it's become very commercialized. A bit more then yoga has, anyways.
good luck, and keep us informed

jdinca

Master Black Belt
Reaction score