fist vs palm strik

OP
M

MartialArtist

It's true about the the risks of hurting your wrist when executing a punch. But remember that the punch shouldn't be eliminated, just supplement them with palm strikes.

OP
F

fanged_seamus

Both the fist and the palm have there place in martial arts, and neither should be eliminated. As they say, "Fit your weapon to your target."

Tad

OP
K

Kenpo Wolf

I prefer the palm strike rather then the fist for two reasons. It is more safer then a fist and you can utilize economy of motion and turn the palm strike into a grab. I'm not saying I would'nt punch if the need arises but I prefer not to

Jay Bell

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
We talk about these things in Systema quite a bit. Typically to "hard" targets of the body, we use open handed strikes to prevent self-injury. In military arts, this is often the case. Nothing like getting a broken hand while on a mission..

The article made very good points. If I'm a police officer and my hand gets broken in a confrontation...what good am I going to be handling the person I'm dealing with?

But of course...bravado typically wins over common sense :D Punch em in the grill hard! :rolleyes:

OP
H

hand2handCombat

i prefer to use palm strikes as the primary striking method and fist for body shots. do you guys agree that would be safe?

OP
S

sweeper

you have longer range with a punch than a palm strike by a couple inches, that's a factor.. most soft targets I would go with the punch because the force is more localised and is transmited through a harder tool. also some techs are hard with the palm, ever try throwing a tight hook with a palm? puts weird strain on your arm, saps alot of power from me. so most of my palm strikes would be close in, a ranged palm strike would be more like a slap if I were to be executing one.

OP
H

hand2handCombat

how is the hand supposed to look when readying for a palm strike

OP
S

sweeper