finding a wing chun school in los angeles

ransom

White Belt
Reaction score
hey all. i would like to begin studying wing chun in los angeles (i am in the san gabriel valley). i have no martial arts experience. i am fortunate that there are many schools and teachers in the los angeles area, but i don't know how to discriminate between them. because i have no experience i think it would be easy for me to spend a lot of time and money at a place and not realize until it is too late that i have wasted my time.

i used to teach english, and was instructed many times at for-profit schools it is more important to make the student feel they are learning to keep them in the school than to actually teach them. to manipulate them to want to gain "levels", to continue spending money, by dangling a certificate in front of them (which they can use to make money, regardless of their language ability), that this is more important than actually imparting knowledge and shaping their ability to learn. i've also personally studied languages and know that persistent study and application leads to success, and that good teachers are act as a guide, helping you advance and refine, and are dedicated to your actual improvement and success, not simply your addiction to leveling up for a certificate to feed their bank account. i feel like trusting someone to be this guide is a serious decision,

so i appeal to you all for help in making my decision.

do any of you have experience with or thoughts about wing chun schools in the los angeles area? preferably in the san gabriel valley area, where there seem to be many and where i am also located.

OP
R

ransom

White Belt
Reaction score
Last edited by a moderator:

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score

I'd go to Gary Lam's for sure.
He's a student of WSL , don't have to look at his web site.

Looked at the Tom Wong guys website , several things turned me off.