Dojo Training: 40s & 50s

'Ailina

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello, everyone.

I'm new to the MartialTalk.com forums, and this is my first post. I hope this is the appropriate place for my question.

My question is for any practitioners who may have trained in Kenpo/Kempo between in the 40s and/or 50s. I'm most interested in what may have taken place in Hawai'i during that time, but I'm curious to read responses from anyone who may have trained then.

What were some of the ways students "toughened up" or worked on strength and endurance in the dojo during that time?

I've heard things before, like kneeling on rice; spearing sand, pebbles, rice; etc. I know some of the things I've heard may be legend or exaggerations, but I'd really like to know some methods that really took place.

For example: my father once said they used to punch boards with bottle caps mounted on them. Someone suggested this might have been an alternative to punching boards wrapped with rope cord.

Did anyone here do this? Or have you heard of similar training?

Looking forward to reading more in the forums and getting to know all of you. Thanks...
'Ailina

dkpd2200

White Belt
Reaction score
Welcome. I'm fairly new to this website myself. That is true. Alot of martial art practitioners used those types of items to toughen their body. That's really all they had back then. They had to improvise. Now, martial arts are alot more common. You can go to any one of the numerous websites and get all kinds of training accessories. I practice Muay Thai and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. I know that the Muay Thai fighters would kick bananna tree's to toughen their shins. It seems like every art form has a unique connection with nature, and how they utilize it in their training routines.

John Bishop

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score