Do you "practice" or "train"?

tradrockrat

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
looks like I could use some more of both! Just yesterday I was going through some drills when I realized that I was screwing up the order of my blocks. This is the first drill I ever learned!!!!

Lynne

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I'm a newbie but I do both. I practice my forms almost daily. I practice wrists grips and one-step sparring "in the air." I practice whatever I've just learned until I get it right or at least improve.

Wow, has it made a difference in my forms. My shoulders weren't square, my front stance looked like a high-wire act, and so on. I just need to get the fist right! But I'm practicing that.

I enlist my daughter to train me. She taught me preparation (arm and defensive/offensive stepping) and constantly corrects me when I'm doing something wrong or sloppy. She was a terror when I was first learning forms. She insisted on preparation when I was just trying to get the stepping right! I thought my head would explode from the mental overload. Now, I'm glad she was insistent. And I have to listen to her, don't I? :whip1: (She's 17 and I'm 49)

Ping898

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have always kind of viewed it as when I am in class I am training, but when I am on my own I am practicing what I was taught.

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
i was training pretty hard for the past 18 months in anticipation of the rank test i just past.

taking this month off from training, and merely practicing.

most of the time, i both train and practice

CoryKS

Senior Master
Reaction score
Training conveys to me a sense of learning new material, whereas Practice suggests maintaining or refining known skills. So I would say that first you train and then you practice.

Langenschwert

Master Black Belt
Reaction score