Do promotions matter?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As a newbie, I'm a white belt, and pretty content with that. So maybe my point of view is skewed.

But I have noticed that in my dojo, I have one sensei who wants to make sure I get promoted. He's always telling me what I still need to do to get my first belt (for my dojo as an adult, it would be orange). I find that I'm interested in learning the material and the language skills and the kata, very much so, but I don't really care what color my belt is. As far as I'm concerned, I could be a white belt for the rest of my life - so what?

I can understand wanting to achieve rank if one wants to teach. You have to have a particular dan to be considered sensei. I get that. But I don't really want to teach. By the time I'll have anything worthwhile to teach in my discipline, I'll be ancient!

I can understand wanting to achieve rank in order to spar, when they match belt against belt within weight classes.

But otherwise, do promotions matter? Would you stop training if your dojo decided not to give promotions anymore? Oh, you'd train the same, and even test, perhaps, but no more belt advancements. Would you quit going? Would you find another dojo where belts were awarded? Is belt advancement important to you, and if so, why?

And I presume everyone is on the same wavelength here in terms of deserving promotion - I'm not talking about getting undeserved promotions, just getting rank in general.

Just curious, really. Perhaps I should be more desiring of advancing in rank? Is this a newbie trait?

Sandstorm

Green Belt
Reaction score
Just curious, really. Perhaps I should be more desiring of advancing in rank? Is this a newbie trait?