dabbling in the arts

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score
i pretty much have my mind made up on this issue, so i'm not looking for advice so much as the general thoughts of other martial artists, especially instructors.

there are several arts that i have an interest in, mostly for historical or esoteric reasons. but at the core my love of the arts lies with grappling followed closely by sport-oriented striking.

what i'm planning on doing starting next month, is picking an art to sort of "play" with in addition to my core training. meaning i'll train once a week or so, probably for a few months before exploring something else. i've decided to stay away from koryu & highly traditional arts, not out of a lack of interest, but out of respect for the commitment level such arts often require.

i was wondering if anyone else has done this, or what everyone's general thoughts were. as a grappling coach, i've had several people from more traditional arts come in for a few months to gain a bit of familiarity with the ground then return their full focus to their main style. i've never had a problem with this & was happy to share what knowledge i could with them until they moved on.

one other question...are there any arts (aside from the koryu) which would especially frown on this approach? i don't intend to step on any toes if i can help it.

jf

Daniel Sullivan

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I think that the crosstraining issue can often be more related to the individual teacher than to the art itself.

Personally, I see nothing wrong with it, provided you can do so in a way that augments your training and works synergistically with the art you already practice. Some arts are so similar that their subtle differences can cause bleed over between the two and one can hinder you in practice of the other if you are doing both simultaneously (say, TKD and Shotokan).

Otherwise, I see it as a good thing.

Daniel

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score