city/province rich in martial arts?

jackwalsh

White Belt
Reaction score
I will be graduating from high school this spring, and wish to get heavily into martial arts. By this i mean hours of practice every day. I would like to move to an area where this is a martial arts "scene" so to speak, where i would be able to find a good gym and fellow enthusiasts. I have attempted to look using google, but its hard to judge gyms by their web sites. I have little martial arts experience, but am extremely physically fit and would like the training to be as tough as possible. I know this sounds like a noobish question, but asking a web board seems my best option to gain a wide range of objective responses.
thank you in advance

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
If you want a large number of schools/styles in a smaller area look at areas like California, Hawaii, New York, Texas. They tend to have more schools in a smaller area then say here, Kansas City.

mozzandherb

Green Belt
Reaction score
First of all what MA do you want to do? Second of all where are you? I assume you're in Canada and if that's the case then you're best bet would be to go to any metropolitain city. I know Montreal and Edmonton have some good MMA school as does Toronto. I live in Ottawa and there are also several very good MA schools here. It all depends on what you want to do, but I assure you that the big cities will have a lot of selection for you.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Albuquerque, NM has a rep. for having an exceptionally large number of schools per capita, and there's certainly a variety there. Of course, NYC and SF are always good chocies.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Let me toss the practical monkey wrench into the discussion...