Carrier Groups - Necessary or Obsolete?

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-18237029

This magazine article on the BBC is I think a nice launch platform {Yay! Naval operations pun attack! :D} for a discussion about the role that carriers played and still play in the projection of a nations authority around the globe.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-18237029

This magazine article on the BBC is I think a nice launch platform {Yay! Naval operations pun attack! :D} for a discussion about the role that carriers played and still play in the projection of a nations authority around the globe.

I'm not an expert on the issue, but I hear a lot of things from people who claim to be.

Personally, I see that we (the US) use the heck out of them in our current wars. And the BBC article misses a couple of points, I believe.

In addition to being a mobile launching platform for attack, the AC is also a good platform for high-quality realtime local aerial recon, both fixed wing and helicopter type. In addition to putting bombs on the ground via fighter/bombers, Naval air can put boots on the ground, as well as being a vital link in supply lines and medical evacuations. This applies also to peacetime missions, including supplying humanitarian aid or evacuations of civilians. And, unlike a stationary air base, an enemy attack has to find it as well as hit it. The Six Day War comes to mind as a good reason not to have all one's flying assets on land-based airfields.

I don't know how many we need, but I do think they still serve a very useful role.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I don’t know but the Chinese obviously do not think they are obsolete...maybe

New Carrier

131871756_31n.jpg

Chinese Carrier Buster Missles

2010122900389_0.jpg

cdunn

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score