Cardio

Kittan Bachika

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Has there been any studies on cardio and martial arts?

Sometimes I change the program do a half hour of cardio with my training. What I have noticed is that when I do my training which consists of blocks, strikes, kicks and forms, I get a good cardio workout and I wonder if it is equivalent or more to working a cardio machine?

I guess it depends on how long my training sessions are and the intensity of my workouts.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am sure somebody some where has done a study on this, but how to find out I have no clue.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am no expert, but in my opinion, no. We do a cardio workout for 1/2 hour before each dojo session. That's not the same as the 'out of breath' and 'heavy perspiration' we get doing kata, exercises, self-defense, and sparring. And it is also not the same as working out for 45 minutes on the treadmill at the gym. Good cardio requires something like 30-40 minutes of sustained 80% or more of maximum heart capacity BPM, as I recall. I've not been going to the gym lately, it shows at the dojo. Dojo is not a replacement for cardio workouts.

Gruenewald

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I am no expert, but in my opinion, no. We do a cardio workout for 1/2 hour before each dojo session. That's not the same as the 'out of breath' and 'heavy perspiration' we get doing kata, exercises, self-defense, and sparring. And it is also not the same as working out for 45 minutes on the treadmill at the gym. Good cardio requires something like 30-40 minutes of sustained 80% or more of maximum heart capacity BPM, as I recall. I've not been going to the gym lately, it shows at the dojo. Dojo is not a replacement for cardio workouts.