Belt Colours

Gyakuto

Senior Master
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Poster often write that they’re a green, orange or blue belt, but am I right in thinking this means nothing since it probably depends upon the art as to what colour is what level? Ihave no 9dea of a poster’s level from the colour of their belt! Does the Japanese ‘kyu’ system not exist in the USA for Japanese MA?

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Every art has different color schemes. Even Japanese arts. Even different schools in the same art. A quick google search of "Judo belt orders" has different lists with white, blue, and brown all being possible starting belt colors. Judo tended to have 6 kyus. Karate has different colors, and different number of kyus.

I studied at a Taekwondo school that also taught Hapkido. We had 12 "keub" ranks for Taekwondo and 7 for Hapkido. Other Taekwondo schools in our organization have 10 keubs, with a completely different color scheme. My school as a kid had 28 keubs.
Typical (10)Kid TKD v1 (28)Kid TKD v2 (19 ish)Adult TKD (12)HKD (7)
White
White + Yellow Stripe
Yellow
Yellow + Green Stripe
Green
Green + Blue Stripe
Blue
Blue + Red Stripe
Red
Red + Black Stripe
White (+3 tape stripes)
Yellow (+3 tape stripes)
Orange (+3 tape stripes)
Purple (+3 tape stripes)
Green (+3 tape stripes)
Blue (+3 tape stripes)
Red (+3 tape stripes)
Brown (+3 tape stripes)
White
Yellow
...+White Stripe
...+Black Stripe
(same colors as v1, but with white/black stripes)
White
Yellow
Purple
Orange
Green
Green + Stripe
Blue
Blue + Stripe
Blue + 2-Stripe
Red
Red + Stripe
Red + 2-Stripe
White
Yellow
Purple
Orange
Green
Blue
Red

Notice how some of these are linear in color progression, some are not. The typical class and the classes I was in as a kid had the same number of stripes for each color, where the class I was in as an adult spread it out over time.

It also doesn't help that these colors are virtually meaningless even if you share a common belt system. The 10-keub system may be: