Beginner seeking advice

VTWalker

White Belt
Reaction score
Greetings to all;
I am an American, but have been living in Turkey for the past 3 years. As there are no Wİng Chun schools anywhere near me, I have been studying on my own for about 2 months. I have gotten books and have studied many videos and texts. By researching and using my best judgement based on the resources available, I have taught myself Siu Lim Tao and practice it every day. I have been following ''Wİng Tsun Kuen'' by Grandmaster Leung Tİng and ''Wİng Chun'' by Grandmaster Ip Chun and Michael Tse for proper forms. I've also been watching videos of Ip Man, Ip Chun and Sam Kwok demonstrating Siu Lim Tao. As I don't have a teacher, I am confused about what else I should be learning as a beginner. Can anyone recommend any additional resources or give advice about what drills I should be doing along with practicing Siu Lim Tao? A breakdown of a syllabus, maybe? I am doing punching drills, but I feel there must be more I can practice on my own. Though I understand it's essential to have a true Sifu, I'm trying to learn as much as I can until I can find one. Any help would be much appreciated.
Thank you

WingChunIan

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I would actually encourage you to stop. Find a Wing Chun school (there are some in Turkey but it depends on where you are) or study another martial art. You may well move at some point in your life and find that you are close enough to a Wing Chun sifu to be able to get proper tuition. Although you are training with the best of intentions I can almost garauntee that you will be training in bad habits that if you do get chance to find a teacher will make correct training more difficult.

OP
V

VTWalker

White Belt
Reaction score