Beginner seeking advice.

loboniga

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, the reason I'm posting is to get advice from this community about what martial art/arts would suit me best and also the availability in my commuting range. I think a little background about myself would help anyone wanting to make a better evaluation so here goes.

I'm a 22 year old male looking to begin training a martial art. I have no background in martial arts. I played football throughout high school and have always been interested in competition and sports that require a lot of strategy and physical contact. I am around 6'3 250 pounds. I've heard Ju Jit Zu is one of the best self-defense martial arts around, but I honestly don't know very much about any other martial arts (other than watching UFC religiously). My main objective is to begin training one the the most effective martial arts (effective means the martial art that gives the student the maximum potential to defend themselves/disable their opponent) so that I'm not wasting my time with something that isn't worth training for my goals. Just as an example, I've heard tai kwon do is more of a martial art "for show," if you will, (not to offend any tae kwon do people out there, but I can't see myself learning to kick like that) and therefore wouldn't be applicable necessarily to a street fight. Anyways, I'm getting a bit off point here.

Location. I commute to work in Austin from Waco 3 days a week, so I would be able to train anywhere in Austin, Waco, or anywhere between. If anyone knows of good places to train in these locations I'd really apprecaite any info/resources you could reference me to. Thanks a ton.

Austin

kaizasosei

Master Black Belt
Reaction score