Some guidance for a beginner in Denver...

Foucrierj

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello all! This is my first time posting. Seeing as this is the beginner section I thought I would take advantage of it and post some newbie questions. :D

The purpose of this post:

I am trying to find a school and style of martial arts in Denver, CO that I would like.

The Facts:

I will be attending graduate school in Denver come the Fall and I want to take up a hobby that would allow me to stay physically fit and relieve stress. When I was younger I practiced TKD for a couple of years, but I became involved with other sports and lost interest. Now that I am older, I want to try martial arts again. I would like to become involved in a style that focuses less on competition and more on practical defense and personal development/growth.

Given my limited experience I am thinking that I would like to try a hard and straight line martial art that also incorporates some throws and holds. I have been told that more 'progressive' martial arts integrate different traditional arts creating mixed styles. Researching the vast number of styles hurt my brain, so, for my purposes, I wanted to start with a more traditional school of martial arts that focuses on self-defense using just the body.

I have already done some online research on local schools and dojos in Denver and I do plan on visiting them before making my decision. My difficulty lies in narrowing down the choices to fit my preferences.

From reading other posts it seems that physical build is one of many important components in choosing a martial art. So, I am 23 years old, 5'11,'' about 185 lbs, and in relatively decent shape.

Notes:

Kempo/Kenpo and karate schools seem to be very popular in Denver.

The Questions:

1. From what I have written, does either karate or Kempo sound like decent choices? If not, what styles would you recommend?