Arm Break Application from Chum Kiu.

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
Did some 'random arms' the other day with a young bloke I've been training for a few years and either my eyes are getting slower or his hands are getting faster.

But there were a few instances where his punching arm ended up trapped inside my guard between the front and rear hand.
Using a variation of the arm break from Chum Kiu I quickly switched position of my hands to Pak Sau the elbow with one hand while I Pak Sau the wrist with the other hand as I pivoted.

Done ballistically this will break the outstretched arm at the elbow.

You use that against a conventional straight punch where the fist is horizontal , just in case someone's not aware ,with the Wing Chun punch instead of applying pressure laterally you must apply force upwards underneath the elbow with one hand and apply pressure downwards on the wrist with the other.
This move you will recognise from the Chum Kiu.

Another more gentle variation I use that is not strictly Wing Chun is that I trap the wrist against my upper chest as I step offline to the blindside and apply pressure to his tricep with the upper Garn Sau which then becomes an arm bar type takedown.

If you use this one it is crucial that you step out to the blindside as he will be trying to hit you with the other hand as you apply pressure to the tricep of his trapped arm.

It's important that you don't go looking to do this stuff , practice the movements by all means , priority is to strike.
But in the chaos of reflex training you somehow end up with his arm between both of yours then why not take advantage of the situation.

Do you other guys do stuff like this or do you just slap the arm away and keep striking.

I'm waiting for someone to tell me that their guard is so impregnable that no strike has ever penetrated it's defences so they have never needed such techniques .

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score