Atillo

ortega1

White Belt
Reaction score
First of all I would like to say that I respect all martial arts. I have trained with Atillo for many years. In addition to GM Atillo I have been a student under Mark Mikita and Guro Dan Inosanto. As for GM Atillo's website it does not do him justice. For those who know GM Atillo he wouldn't know how to turn on a computer, I am sure that site was created by one of his students.

What I do know for sure is that GM Atillo does know stick, and I could care less if its called Balintawak. The name matters not.

Guro Inosanto is a student of GM Atillo's, I invite you to contact him and question GM Atillos credentials. Guro Dan has had Atillo teach at the Academy many times, I have been there personally. Simply go to inosanto.com and find the number.

Insulting Atillo in this fourm is like insulting Inosanto himself.

visit fightology.com

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
It appears that some Balintawak practitioner's have issues with GM Atillo. That being said people are interested in what GM Atillo does and we are interested in seeing how his system of Balintawak practices. Thanks for posting.

OP
O

ortega1

White Belt
Reaction score
It seems that most people are more interested in the name rather than the art itself. Those who have a problem with GM Atillo should touch hands with him first before their critical. Besides who is really true Balintawak here, everything evolves. I have seen thosands of JKD instructors and none of them are like Sigung Bruce, they incorporate their past styles and influences to JKD.

I am not here to say Atillo is this or that, I know him personally and know his shortcomings. What I am saying is that training under him I know his approach is effective and I am not alone when I say that. Like I said, ask Guro Dan Inosanto himself. I think Dan will know true master when he sees one.

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni