• You were beat up and wanted revenge

• Saw it in the movies and thought it would be fun

• Fitness

• Other (please post why)

Results are only viewable after voting.

JBrainard

Senior Master
Reaction score
It was a combination of always being fascinated with martial arts, being picked on in high school, and a fear of physical confrontation.

onibaku

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
when I was young I did weightlifting. after some months I thought it was boring. I also saw a movie about martial arts and I was amazed. so I started boxing. after some years i realized something was missing. so i started practicing kicks. then my teacher took me to train formally.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm almost embarassed to admit it but what got me started in martial arts training was seeing "Enter the Dragon". Nowadays we've got lots of MA movies and even series to watch but back then seeing Bruce Lee in action was almost awe inspiring - we'd never seen the like in the one horse town I'm from and me and a couple of mates quickly scouted out a school :D.

dru123

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I always liked martial arts. When I was really young, 8 or 9, my mom had a friend who taught jujitsu. I went to a class, but couldn't finish because all they did was roll on the mat the whole time. I use to get bad motion sickness as a kid, and I told them I couldn't do the rolls and they said that is alot of what they do so I never went back.

When I was a teenager, we had a friend who took Muay Thai that everyone really respected. I wanted to be like that and to just learn how to fight, but my parents could not afford the classes.