Which martial art should I take?

nmnminh

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello guys, I'm 5,5ft and 181lb. But I'm not fat, my body is rather bulky (i'm not doing gym by the way). I'm very used to cardio exercises as I'm a pro in badminton. But I know that I can't be very flexible and swift, my agility is average and i'm pretty powerful. So what should I choose I have these options around my home: taekwondo, karate, aikido, judo, muaythai, vovinam, kickboxing, aikibudo. I want to train and stick seriously but I don't want to change my body (ex: become thinner). I imagine myself to be strong and tough, not really needed to be fast or flexible :D that is just my imagination I really need advice. Thank you very much!

stonewall1350

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hello guys, I'm 5,5ft and 181lb. But I'm not fat, my body is rather bulky (i'm not doing gym by the way). I'm very used to cardio exercises as I'm a pro in badminton. But I know that I can't be very flexible and swift, my agility is average and i'm pretty powerful. So what should I choose I have these options around my home: taekwondo, karate, aikido, judo, muaythai, vovinam, kickboxing, aikibudo. I want to train and stick seriously but I don't want to change my body (ex: become thinner). I imagine myself to be strong and tough, not really needed to be fast or flexible :D that is just my imagination I really need advice. Thank you very much!

A few things:

Partaking in any art will change your body. Especially flexibility and agility. That comes with practice and knowledge. You may not become gumby, but it all builds up.

Ask yourself what you want to learn? Do you want a competition sport? Self defense? Do you want to learn punches and kicks? Knees? What kind of personality do you have? What about the gym? Are weapons something you might want to learn?