What self defense do

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was wondering about self defense classes what does your dojaang teach and how is it different from the regular classes at the school?

The Kidd

Purple Belt
Reaction score
We encorporate them into our regular classes and teach several basic ones that are required for each belt test. I have tried to start teaching our students what I call "school self defense". Since we have so many students ranging in ages from 8 to 16 I have started going more to an Aikido or Ju Jitsu based self defense that focuses more on holds and submissions rather than strikes. Being a school administrator I have seen so often kids getting into trouble for defending themselves but they inflict more damage than the attacker would have. If I can teach them to control the person until an adult gets there then hopefully they will not receive consequences.

TraditionalTKD

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Color belt students and children are exposed to general self defense applications of various techniques. Real self defense training is reserved for black belt studets. This includes specific form and technique application, vital spots, timing, joint breaking etc. None of this is stuff lower belts need to know. This is reserved for black belt students under Special Training.

matt.m

Senior Master
Reaction score
Color belt students and children are exposed to general self defense applications of various techniques. Real self defense training is reserved for black belt studets. This includes specific form and technique application, vital spots, timing, joint breaking etc. None of this is stuff lower belts need to know. This is reserved for black belt students under Special Training.