What kind of silat?

G

gman

I am currently a student of American Kenpo but am looking into gaining some training in Silat. I was recenctly exposed to a small amount at a seminar and am now interested. I have done a little internet research and I notice there are different types. Can anyone tell me the difference? Thanks.

Nevermind, I just found the group further down the page. Sorry.

pesilat

3rd Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by gman
I am currently a student of American Kenpo but am looking into gaining some training in Silat. I was recenctly exposed to a small amount at a seminar and am now interested. I have done a little internet research and I notice there are different types. Can anyone tell me the difference? Thanks.

* flippant alert *

What are the different types of Kung Fu or Karate?

* flippancy off *

Just to give a little perspective, there are literally hundreds (some say thousands) of systems of Silat. I've heard that there are over 300 officially recognized systems of Silat on Java alone. That doesn't count all the "unofficial" ones practiced in little villages or single families that weren't part of the census for one reason or another. It also doesn't count all the systems of silat that are on Sumatra, Bali, Flores, Borneo, and the rest of the islands (and there's a bunch of 'em). Or the silat systems in Malaysia or the Philippines.

However, the most common ones you'll find here in the states are either Serak (or Serak influenced) from the de Thouars family and Mande Muda from the Suwanda family.