Weird fainting feeling during training

tamir302

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all, I wanted to share an experience I had- maybe someone can relate or share their own similar experience.

I started practicing Wing Chun a few months ago, and a couple months ago we started to train in a kind of punching drills: The group splits into two rows: one holding training pads(sorry, not sure how it's called in English), and the people in front of them punch, kick etc, one after another. into the pads. Afterward, the rows change places.

So anyway, There are two really big and strong guys in my group, and when they punch me- this is when the problem begins. It always feels quite painful (although I'm holding the pad). and their punches/ kicks throw me away. The thing is- a couple of times already, after these guys hit me like this, and the other guys in the group come after them and punch as well, I gradually start to feel really bad. It's a weakness, dizziness and almost fainting feeling that forces to stop the training, sit for a few minutes until it passes.

This kind of feelings doesn't occur when other, not so strong guys hit me. Nor does it happen in the more aerobic part when I'm the one who's doing the hitting.

Has anyone experienced anything like it? Can getting hit through the pads cause it? I never took a blow to head or anything.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
My first guess would be that you're holding your breath.

ballen0351

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Or some type of inner ear from the vibrations from the strikes

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Yeah, I'm quite positive I am.

Ask your instructor to verify your breathing. I hear answers like that from students all the time. They're positive too. On occasion, I've had to video them to prove that I'm not hallucinating.

Or some type of inner ear from the vibrations from the strikes