Weapon Of Choice

runnerninja

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I am only getting into martial arts but already in this time I have been given the opportinity to use several weapons. What is peoples weapon of choice and why? Particularly interested in the point of view of people who have trained using several weapons. Do you have a preference for a particular weapon or does the situation dictate what you would prefer?

Just curious. Im not experienced enough to have a preference yet. Looking forward to continuing my training with several weapons.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just curious. I'm not experienced enough to have a preference yet. Looking forward to continuing my training with several weapons.

There will be one among the several you experiment with that will feel the best in your hand, that WILL become your weapon of choice..

Do you have a preference for a particular weapon or does the situation dictate what you would prefer

I learned the basics of the "chucks" because it looked so cool..I teach the PR-24 which is the great Grandson of the Tonfa..I perfer that to all straight batons..Also learning the basics of the Cane which I hope to stay with because you can carry the cane almost ANYWHERE...

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
A scoped rifle. This hands on stuff is great, but, I'd rather not have to lay hands on someone to stop them.

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I like almost all weapons, of course! There's just something magical about having a tool in your hands that becomes an extension of your own body and mind.

As a Yamanni Ryu practitioner, I prefer the bo.

The bo is arguably the most commonly used weapon amongst the martial arts community, is very well studied, and can be used for many purposes.