Vote day experiences

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
At my polling place, there were what appeared to be, three auditors sitting behind the poll workers. And I gave my name to vote, the poll worker marked off that I had voted (no semi-permanent ink for my thumb), as did the auditor sitting behind me.
There was, however, no line. We (myself and my wife) were able to get in and out of the polling place in about 5 minutes.

Phoenix44

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I got to my polling place where I've been voting for the past 15 years. There was a guy at a table in the hallway outside the voting area asking people to wait in line to check addresses.

That is SO illegal. Only some first time voters are required to bring ID. I objected. So did several other people. Then I put in a complaint to Election Protection, and called the local TV station.

BTW, I live in a Republican district in a solidly "blue" state.

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Phoenix44 said:
I got to my polling place where I've been voting for the past 15 years. There was a guy at a table in the hallway outside the voting area asking people to wait in line to check addresses.

That is SO illegal. Only some first time voters are required to bring ID. I objected. So did several other people. Then I put in a complaint to Election Protection, and called the local TV station.
After your objection, what happened?

loki09789

Senior Master
Reaction score
Phoenix44 said:

BTW, I live in a Republican district in a solidly "blue" state.

Why is it illegal to verify ID/Address of the person who is voting? I would figure that given the heat around this years election, that kind of verification process would be welcome if not a time frustration.

Feisty Mouse

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I believe only polling officials can ask for any kind of ID - and even if you are at the "wrong" polling place, you can fill out a ballot.