"Ultra" competitors

TKDmel

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to MT but as most everyone here, I love to discuss anything TKD. My question to everyone is, how many people here are still competing past the "adult" age limit, into the "ultra" age group(35+). If so, do you feel that there is enough emphasis by TKD organizations promoting the variuos benefits of staying involved in the competition end of the art/sport? I for one feel it is very important to develop our young people for the future of this fine art, but in doing so, don't forget that all the youngsters will someday be oldsters. What and who will be watching out for them then? I hope that someday TKD organizations will more heavily promote the art/sport for adults and not just the young. After all...TKD has kept me young of mind, heart, and spirit. Shouldn't that be promoted as well? Btw, I'm 50 yrs. young and still compete at the national level.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to MT but as most everyone here, I love to discuss anything TKD. My question to everyone is, how many people here are still competing past the "adult" age limit, into the "ultra" age group(35+). If so, do you feel that there is enough emphasis by TKD organizations promoting the variuos benefits of staying involved in the competition end of the art/sport? I for one feel it is very important to develop our young people for the future of this fine art, but in doing so, don't forget that all the youngsters will someday be oldsters. What and who will be watching out for them then? I hope that someday TKD organizations will more heavily promote the art/sport for adults and not just the young. After all...TKD has kept me young of mind, heart, and spirit. Shouldn't that be promoted as well? Btw, I'm 50 yrs. young and still compete at the national level.