TSD kicks

J

J-kid

Just a few questions can you discribe TSD kicks and how do they differ from MT and reglur TKD>

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
To me, TSD kicks make more use of the hip and proper technique. I wish I had a site to show you, because I'm not very good at explaining LOL. Anyways, I was taught in TSD to use chambering, turning the hip over, and kicking for a roundhouse (with the ball of the foot). And side kicks are really different from TKD (to me that is). You chamber with your butt facing the target, throw the kick and turn your hip over at the same time. When the kick is fully extended, your body looks like a "T".

TKD uses "flicky" kicks (for sport reasons). Their roundhouse (or turning kicks) are brought up at a 45 degree angle (kinda looks like a front kick to me) instead of turing the hip over first. The side kicks are just thrown out. I know speed is one of the goals here, but I don't see the point in killing technique and power just to gain speed.

I did both (still in TKD and wish I was back in TSD), so I can tell ya there is a big difference LOL.

I don't know about HKD. I never done Hapkido other than some Combat hapkido.

MT uses "power" period. Their roundhouse kicks are brought up at an angle with little chamber. They use the hip first to bring the leg up. Total hip power. Very effective kick. I use it (I stole it from MT hehehehehe).

OP
J

J-kid

Thanks if anyone has pictures or can tell me more about the kicks that would be cool.

mtabone

Green Belt
Reaction score
I have had students who have crossed over from TKD to TSD. They say that while there are simularities, it is a huge difference. front kicks in TKD come from the ground up instead of a chambering position. side kicks as well come up instead of out. TKD kicks are mostly concerned ( THIS IS THE TKD I HAVE BEEN SHOWN, I AM NOT OUT TO OFFEND ANYONE) with points, and not actual combat. Like KarateKid said, TSD emphsises more hips and technique.