New guy says hi (TSD related)

T

TangSooGuy

Hello, everyone. I've been lurking for awhile and decided to join the community.

I am a Sam Dan (Third degree Black Belt) and member of the World Tang Soo Do Association ( www.worldtangsoodo.com ).

I've been training for 17 years and am starting the testing process for my 4th degree this weekend.

I felt the desire to respond to many other threads regarding TSD, but I've found that it is so easy to get controversial, that i haven't added my input yet.

However, I'll be looking at the TSD posts and try to anser what I can where I can without getting into any flame wars.

If anyone has anyspecific questions regarding TSD, or the WTSDA, feel free to ask.

In asking about origins, history, etc, I'll tell you what i know and believe to be correct, but I'll put in a disclaimer now, that there is as much evidence for one point of view as for many other points of view when you start talking about this.

One thing I will say upfront is that TSD shares its origins with TKD, and while I have not had a lot of experience with TKD instructors or practitioners, I will say in the limited experience I have had that TSD seems to more readily embrace Chinese and Okinawan influences.

The principle areas studied in TSD are (in no particular order):

1. Forms
2. Hand and Kick techniques (Kicks are characteristically high, and many are done with jumps, but low kicks do exist and are incorporated)
3.Meditation
Sparring- Competition, Pre-Arranged, Group, and Free (Non-tournament)
4. Weapons- Staff, Knife, Long Sword, Cane
5.Self defense incorporating grappling, jointlocks, pressure points (Hap Ki Do influence)
6. Breaking (not heavily stressed, but incorporated)

Let me know if I can provide any information you don't have already. I don't claim to know it all, and there may be more senior members here, but I'll share what I do know, and I'll admit it when I don't know.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome!