Training help needed

Schwobe301

White Belt
Reaction score
I need some training advice. i weigh about 160 and need to drop to 155, id like to fight in the light weight class. I would like to do so while also not losing any strength/muscle or at the same time maybe gaining muscle. I'm kind of at a dilemma, i ran cross country and distance track and wrestled for 7 years. My body fat isnt all that high but definately not where i want it to be. Anyone have any ideas on how to lose the fat but in return become stronger at a lower weight? I run 4 miles bike 10 and swim 1 5 days out of the week. I try to rotate what muscles im working on every other day. thanks

Nolerama

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
How long have you been training in MMA? Maybe your "walking weight" might be the right place for you to be as a fighter.

Is there any particular reason you want to fight in that weight class?

OP
S

Schwobe301

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been training for 5 months, ever since my last year of track ended. I just always pictured light weight classes as the faster paced fights but then again this is mma and there really is no slow fighting. walking weight?

Nolerama

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
"Walking weight" is the weight you generally stay at when you're not trying to cut/gain weight.

However, there's nothing against being a faster fighter in the heavier ranks. I think that's very important and will increase in importance as the sport progresses. The face of MMA is always changing. We're going to start seeing a lot more speed in the near future. If you look at UFC heavyweights a few years ago and compare them to UFC heavyweights today, you'll see a huge difference.

Good luck in whatever you choose. If you really want to cut that weight down, dropping 5 pounds isn't a whole lot to lose. If you really want to kill yourself, you can sweat it out in a steam room. But you could also change your diet.