training device / wooden dummy installation

Kanoy919

Green Belt
Reaction score
Greetings!

Am looking at this item as a potential training tool at home to allow me to work on various entries, angle, and hand movements. I'm looking at this item rather than a wooden dummy mainly because I don't have the money for a wooden dummy right now and would rather not wait 6 months or mor until I do.

Curious to know if anybody has seen or used this and your opinion.

http://www.wingchundummys.com/Product_89.html

2nd Question: I'm not that experienced when it comes to carpentry and would like to know if mounting this or a wooden dummy to a wall inside a home would be a bad thing. Could I cause damage to the wall from training? The wall I plan on using basically has 2"x4"s every 16" that run from the floor to the ceiling and then covered by sheet rock. My thought is to use two wide boards horizontally (top and bottom). These boards would be long enouch that I could use wood screws to screw each board into at least three of the 2"x4"s (anotherwards the board would have to be longer then 16"x3 or around 48" in length). I'm not sure, but seems to me that I would have a hard time damaging the sheetrock or any of the 2"x4"x. Your thoughts/experiences please!! Thanks!

Here's a sample space saving wooden dummy that I'm thinking of attaching to my wall.
http://www.wingtsunusa.com/store/W113.html

Again, thanks in advance for taking the time to respond.

Best,

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score