To Form or Not To Form and the Mystery of "Modern" MA

OP
Matt Stone

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Originally posted by rmcrobertson
I still say the reason we see this stuff in Systema is because it's really there. Not because somebody ripped off somebody else, but because there's a certain logic to intelligent self-defense...

I can't always tell if things were imported into kenpo deliberately, or if they look that way because they have to be that way...you know, the old, "a airplane designed by aliens would look like ours, because the physics of flight are the same everywhere," argument.

The quotes from rmcrobertson above are the kind of thinking that spurred me to start this thread...

I studied Yiliquan, and nothing but Yiliquan, for the first 13 years I was involved in martial arts. Then I took Aikido for a very short time. When I moved to Japan, I took Shuri-te Ha Karate-do, then Modern Arnis under John Lehmann (from Tim Hartman's camp), and finally being introduced to RyuTe Karate by Martial Talk's own RyuShiKan.

When I first started in martial arts, I thought Yiliquan was the end all/be all for martial arts. It had everything and then some. I berated and criticized other schools, other styles, other practitioners for their inability to grasp the simple truth of their own inadequacy.

Later on, I grew up.

When I did, I started investigating other martial arts. Wherever I found myself, I would try to find time to visit a school, watch their classes, try to grasp what they style "felt" like to my mind's eye.

When I got around to actually trying to study other arts, I was immediately struck with the vast amount of similarities. All of Modern Arnis' basic techniques (i.e. footwork, striking angles, joint locks, throws) are included in Yiliquan. Much of the same concepts and theories of RyuTe are the same as that of Yili. Shuri-te, as it was taught to me, showed me how Chinese boxing had influenced that particular strain of Okinawan technique...