...time to reconsider some techniques?

WingChunIan

Blue Belt
Reaction score
some of those attacks would test most defences. Does go to show that trying to wrestle / restrain a guy with a knife if futile. Turning his lights out fast is the only realistic option. In the clip where the guy was bent over basically holding on with one hand and blocking with the other, he survived for a while if only he'd let go of his hold and smacked the guy whilst he blocked he might have prevailed. Being realistic, someone comes at you like in many of the clips then you've got to face reality and expect to get hurt.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am no expert. However, from the appearance of many of those videos, the stabbings were done as a form of an uppercut to the body, thrown underhanded and repeated over and over again to the victim's midsection. One would normally do whatever one could to keep away from the knife and thus, the knife arm. But it would appear that the appropriate defense in such a case would be to attack and immobilize the knife arm as quickly as possible, rather than blocking as one might a punch or a kick. Lock onto the hand holding the blade and immobilize, trap, or cause a release would seem to be most appropriate.

Some of the other attacks were more 'cutting' than stabbing, such as the throat slashing and the person waving the knife around like a sword.

Those stabbings very much resembled videos of prison knifings (shanking) I have seen; the difference only being that the prison shankings are primarily done from behind and into vital organs by people who have studied anatomy enough to know where they are. They are hard to combat.

Thoughts?

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
I dont see what this changes - Unless certain Organisations have some silly ideas about Knife Defense.
Grabbing the Knife Wielding Limb is still a Good Idea so long as You plan on using that as a chance to Strike.
Dodging is still a Good Idea.