The Wooden Dummy

CuongNhuka

Senior Master
Reaction score
Out of curiousity, does any know which styles contain a Wooden Dummy form(s)? I know Wing Chun does (and in some lines has more then 1), Jeet Kune Do does dummy work, and I recall reading somewere that Choy Lay Fut also contains a wooden dummy form(s). for that matter, how is the dummy set up?
I have no real reason to ask, this is really just a bit of curiousity.

OP
CuongNhuka

CuongNhuka

Senior Master
Reaction score
Was there supposed to be link there, or were you being funny?

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Pai Lum has at least one wooden dummy form and the Sikaran that I studied ( not a CMA system) also has at least one

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Wing Chun or Wing Tzun both have the wooden dummy. JKD as practiced by Bruce Lee also has one as well. Kelly Worden of Natural Spirit International also has it within his curriculum. There are lot's more but that is just a few.

OP
CuongNhuka

CuongNhuka

Senior Master
Reaction score
Pai Lum has at least one wooden dummy form and the Sikaran that I studied ( not a CMA system) also has at least one

Do you know how the dummies are designed? Are they like the Wing Chun dummy, from your understanding?

OP
CuongNhuka

CuongNhuka

Senior Master
Reaction score
The only link in my post is in my signature. I am never funny. :D

Here it is again: www.kifightingconcepts.com. There's lots o' good stuff on the site if you have the time to check it out.

Gotcha. I did check that out though. It's mostly, do I have the funds? Unemployed 17 year old, not likely to have too much cash on hand.

OP
CuongNhuka

CuongNhuka

Senior Master
Reaction score
Wing Chun or Wing Tzun both have the wooden dummy. JKD as practiced by Bruce Lee also has one as well. Kelly Worden of Natural Spirit International also has it within his curriculum. There are lot's more but that is just a few.