The value of elbows and knees.

cfr

Black Belt
Reaction score
***Disclaimer: Im still pretty new to MA. If Im totally wrong about all this then I apologize in advance. ***

I was wondering what some of you might think about this. I love to train elbows and knees. The reason is not because I think they are better tools than others, but because it seems that alot of MA guys dont train them very often. What I mean by this is that it seems like lots of schools show how they are done, test on them, and then forget about them. It seems like so few of the students actually incorporate them into their own training arsenals. This is just my newbie to MA opinion based on the schools Ive either belonged to or checked out when on the hunt for a new one. If Im correct in this thinkng (which I may be waaaaayyyy out in left field about) then they would be excellent tools for survival. Even against lots of experienced MA guys. I dont really beleive that this style is better than that one. I beleive that fighter 1 needs to be better at his style than fighter 2 in order to be victorious. It seems like lots of MA guys are used to seeing lots of different hand strikes and kicks and they know how to block them. But it seems like relatively few would know how to react if the opponent got in close and started to fire off elbow and knee combos. Personally I train elbows and knees once a week on a heavy bag and as often as I can get my instuctor to train them in class. We go through phases where we do them every class :D and then we wont do them for a while. :(
Whats your take?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
In JKD, HKE (heads, knees, and elbows) are stressed.

They're used to good effect in Muay Thai!

P

pknox